Was a sunny day

It was one of my favourite songs since I was in elementary school. I still remember my late father had a cassette of Paul Simon with this song included. He used to play it over and over.

Now when I become adult and internet is easy to be accessed anywhere, I seek this song with the original singer on the internet. But I couldn’t find it until this time when I look  for it on Youtube. I am so glad about it, so I post in this article. I hope you like this song.

A very simple folk song with optimistic lyrics. I like the situation that described in this song. A day with good weather, people passing and  speak in polite. The birds are there in the trees, maybe chirping. The radio plays favorite melodies. Sounds  peaceful like in paradise.

I wish my city looks alike that too. No flood when rainy season, no traffic jam. The trees are enough to provide oxygene for the people and the birds chirping to give beautiful sounds. Very utopia !

About the singer, who doesn’t know Paul Simon ? A very popular folk singer, he used to duet with Art Garfunkel before he sings  solo. He also a good guitarist.

Was a sunny day
Not a cloud was in the sky
Not a negative word was heard
From the people passing by
’twas a sunny day
All the birdies in the trees
And the radio’s singing song
All the favorite melodies

He was a navy man
Stationed in newport news
She was a highschool queen
With nothing really left to lose
She was a highschool queen
With nothing really left to lose

Was a sunny day
Not a cloud was in the sky
Not a negative word was heard
From the people passing by
’twas a sunny day
All the birdies in the trees
And the radio’s singing song
All the favorite melodies

Her name was lorelei
She was his only girl
She called him “speedoo”
But his chistian name was mister earl
She called him “speedoo”
But his chistian name was mister earl

Was a sunny day
Not a cloud was in the sky
Not a negative word was heard
From the people passing by
’twas a sunny day
All the birdies in the trees
And the radio’s singing song
All the favorite melodies

One thought on “Was a sunny day

  1. Pingback: One Man’s Ceiling Is Another Man’s Floor « priajelita

Leave a Reply

