Circus of Heaven

Those who passed by derided  him, shaking their heads and saying, ‘Aha! You who would destroy the temple and build it in three days, save yourself, and come down from the cross!’ In the same way the chief priests, along with the scribes, were also mocking him among themselves and saying, ‘He saved others; he cannot save himself. Let the Messiah, the King of Israel, come down from the cross now, so that we may see and believe.’ Those who were crucified with him also taunted him. ( Mark 15 : 29-32 )

It was Good Friday. So I went to church as usually. Sermon quote from Mark 15 : 20 – 40.

Several weeks before that, I played the video of Yes titled “Circus of Heaven” on Youtube. I interested with this video. About this song I already knew since I was teenager. I like it very much. So I inserted it in  my posting. I knew that this song is not a gospel song although it mentions heaven. But when I played the video of this song I surprised because I saw the picture of Jesus in this slide show video. Then I remembered a verse of the bible in Mark 15:29 says “You who would destroy the temple and build it in three days”. It sounds like a circus of heaven to me.

Of course, Jesus didn’t mean it physically. He meant it metaphorically. He rose from his dead on the third day. Three days that changed   the life of human. By His resurrection, He has conquered death. He has reconciled sinful humanity with God. He who believes in the Son of God hath not condemned, but had eternal life.

About 2 bandits that crucified together with Him, the  bible of Luke said that one of them repented. Then he said, ‘Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.’ Jesus replied, ‘Truly I tell you, today you will be with me in Paradise.’ ( Luke 23:42-43). I feel that I was that bandit who repented. It’s almost too late to repent, but I made it anyway. During my lifetime I am only doing bad things until  my dying. Tragic. Repent just a few time before dead. But in my thought, it’s better than the other one.

“To know that Jesus rose from his dead is history. To know that Jesus rose from his dead and believe in him is a blessing. ” said the reverend in sermon.

Happy Easter !

Leave a Reply

