Loves Me Like a Rock

When I was a little boy (when I was just a boy)
And the Devil would call my name (when I was just a boy)
I’d say “Now who do, (who-oo)
Who do you think you’re fooling?” (when I was just a boy)
I’m a consecrated boy (when I was just a bo-o-o-y)
I’m a singer in a Sunday choir (oooh)

Oh my mama loves me, she loves me
She get down on her knees and hug me (ahh a-a-ah)
(oh)She loves me like a rock She rocks me like the rock of ages
And loves me She love me, love me, love me, love me

When I was grown to be a man (grown to be a man)
And the Devil would call my name (grown to be a man)
I’d say “Now who do, (whooo)
Who do you think you’re fooling?” (grown to be a man)
I’m a consummated man (grown to be a ma-a-a-n)
I can snatch a little purity (oooh)

My mama loves me, she loves me
She get down on her knees and hug me (ahh a-a-ah)
(oh)She loves me like a rock She rocks me like the rock of ages
And loves me She love me, love me, love me, love me

And if I was the President (was the President)
The minute that Congress called my name (was the President)
I’d say “Now who do, (whooo)
Who do you think you’re fooling? (who do you think you’re fooling)
I’ve got the Presidential Seal (was the president)
I’m up on the Presidential Po-o-dium (oooh)

My mama loves me, she loves me She get down on her knees and hug me
(oh)She loves me like a rock She rocks me like the rock of ages And loves me

This song has been interpreted in many different views of the listeners. Some said that this song was a gospel song, because mentioned about devil and Sunday choir. The other said that this song had nothing to do with religion, but only described the growth of a boy into a man. But Wikipedia mentioned that this song had the gospel version which sang by The Dixie Hummingbirds.

Some who said that it is not a gospel  song said the second verse described a relationship about the boy with his mother and the fourth verse described a relationship about the boy with his wife or his girlfriend. But I have a different story about my childhood with my late mother.

I was the youngest child in the family. My mother liked me because I was chubby and adorable. She often called me when I was not in her sight. After that she liked to have me in her lap and grabbed me tightly. Sometimes she also bit my hand. After for a while, then she released me.

Now after I am adult, I do the same thing with my bolster. I like to grab it tight and pretend that it is an adorable child and sometimes I also kiss it.🙂

Talk about a song which told about the growth of a person from childhood to adulthood I know another song titled “Que Sera Sera”.  But this song told about the growth of a girl into a woman. Sang by Doris Day. And the first line of the first verse of both songs are almost the same, both in lyrics and tones. “When I was a little boy” in “Loves Me Like A Rock” and “When I was just a little girl” in “Que Sera Sera”

When I was just a little girl I asked my mother what will I be
Will I be pretty will I be rich Here’s what she said to me

Que Sera Sera Whatever will be will be The future’s not ours to see
Que Sera Sera What will be will be

When I grew up and fell in love I asked my sweetheart what lies ahead
Will we have rainbows day after day Here’s what my sweetheart said

Que Sera Sera Whatever will be will be The future’s not ours to see
Que Sera Sera What will be will be

Now I have children of my own They ask their mother what will I be
Will I be handsome will I be rich I tell them tenderly

Que Sera Sera Whatever will be will be The future’s not ours to see
Que Sera Sera What will be will be Que Sera Sera

One thought on “Loves Me Like a Rock

  1. Pingback: One Man’s Ceiling Is Another Man’s Floor « priajelita

Leave a Reply

