Enjoy the Silence

Words like violence break the silence come crashing in
Into my little world. Painful to me pierce right through me
Can’t you understand oh my little girl

All I ever wanted. All I ever needed is here in my arms
Words are very unnecessary. They can only do harm

Vows are spoken to be broken. Feelings are intense
Words are trivial. Pleasures remain. So does the pain
Words are meaningless and forgettable

All I ever wanted. All I ever needed is here in my arms
Words are very unnecessary. They can only do harm

I already posted about that quote in here. But I like to add about the dualism that implicit in the quote. The quotation says that writing is a struggle against silence. But maybe almost all of us need silence when we want to write.  Don’t we  ? Probably most of us need a relatively quiet place or a quiet situation to get inspiration or confide to write.

So silence looks like a double edged razor blade. It looks like a cancer that can kill us. But we also need it when we want a quiet situation when we want to concentrate.

So the sentence looks like to have an irony situation. When we are writing, almost all of us usually need silence to concentrate. But on the other hand, writing is also a struggle against silence. It means writing is one of activities that we can choose  to kill or spend the time  when we have nothing else to do.

There’s also an old saying that says “silence is golden”. It can mean, we better close our mouths and just say whatever we need to say without adding anything that doesn’t necessary. If we don’t know exactly the answer to the question that was asked, we better close our mouths and let the other who know more than us answer that question.

“Silence is golden” is also related to a secret thing that someone wants us to keep it secret. By shut our mouths, we can keep it secret and also keep the trust that someone already gave us.

Leave a Reply

