Don’t Cry for Messi, Argentina

It won’t be easy
You’ll think it’s strange
When I try to explain how I feel
That we still need your goal
After all that it’s done
You won’t believe me
All we want to see
Is a goal we once knew
Although it’s time up to ninety
And thirty with you

I had to let it happen
I had to change
Couldn’t stay all my life down at Brazil
Looking out of the window
Staying out of the sun
So I chose to move on
Running around trying everything new
But nothing impressed me at all
I never expected it too

Don’t cry for Messi, Argentina
The truth is I never left you
All through my wild days
My mad existence
I kept my promise
Don’t keep your distance

And as for fortune and as for fame
We always rely on you
Though it seemed to the world
You were all I desired
You are illusions
You’re not the solutions
You promise to be
The answer was a goal all the time
I love your goal and hope you make it too

Don’t cry for Messi, Argentina
The truth is I never left you
All through my wild days
My mad existence
I kept my promise
Don’t keep your distance

Have I said to much?
There’s nothing more I can think of to say to you
But all you have to do
Is a goal for us to see
That every word is true

BEACON MAGAZINE

messi-01

by Shayda Abazari (new addition to the Beacon staff)
graphic by Savannah Tate

My Dearest Argentina,

Guess who?! It’s your favorite national fútbol team captain! Okay, so maybe not favorite. We may or may not have lost the final match of a little tournament known as the 2014 FIFA World Cup to Germany on Sunday, but it’s not as bad as it sounds, I promise! Let me explain.

In my defense (no pun intended), the whole “losing the World Cup” thing was really just a misunderstanding. See, I figured since our team had done so well in the semi-finals using our infallible strategy of not letting the ball touch the net until the start of the penalty kicks, why bother to change our ways for the final? When I pointed this out to Coach Sabella, he was totally on board, and, by the looks of the first 113 minutes…

View original post 439 more words

Leave a Reply

